How Learning is organised at Epworth Primary Academy

Children in Reception follow the Government's Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and work towards the early learning goals. This emphasises learning through play activity in seven areas of learning and development.

The Prime Areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children in key stages 1 and 2 follow the National Curriculum. This specifies 12 subjects to be taught.

The teaching of English and Mathematics is given special emphasis.

There are ten other subjects taught through themes. Although less time may be allocated to teaching most of these subjects, they are still important as they enable the children to have a rounded balanced education.

Art and Design Design Technology
Geography History
ICT Religious Education
Physical Education Music
Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) Science

In key stage 2, an extra subject, Modern Foreign Languages is added.

The curriculum is organised in termly or half termly themes which will include elements of several subjects. Links are made between subjects. For example in a lesson pupils may read and write about Victorian schools thus including Literacy and History. This is to make the learning more exciting.

All lessons are carefully planned to meet the needs of all the children, with work set at different levels to meet the abilities of each child - more able children are set more challenging work while less able children are given additional support. Teachers set clear objectives for each lesson which are shared with the children so they understand clearly what they are learning.

Children are taught in classes by their class teacher for almost all the time but there will be times in the week when the class is taught by a Teaching Assistant to allow the teacher planning, preparation and assessment time as required by law. Sometimes a small group of children or an individual child will work with a teaching assistant or teacher on a programme designed to support their learning.

Religious Education

RE is taught in accordance with the local North Lincolnshire agreed syllabus as a blocked unit of work. This was devised by representatives of the major faith groups in the county. Religious Education develops pupils' knowledge and understanding of Christianity and other principal world religions. In both key stages the children learn about Christianity. In KS1 children also learn about Hinduism whilst in KS2 children learn about Islam and Judaism. In the Foundation stage the children's work on RE is included within the seven areas of learning, particularly personal, social and emotional development.

In our multicultural society we think it important that children should learn about the religions of others. However, parents have a right in law to request the withdrawal of their child(ren) from RE lessons. Such requests should be made in writing to the Principal.


Teachers continually assess and monitor children's progress. This helps them to plan work carefully for each child according to individual needs and abilities. Records of children's progress are kept by all members of staff and are handed on as children move from class to class. Records are available for parents to look at and discuss; please ask your child's teacher if you wish to do this.

Reading, Writing and Mathematics assessments are made every half term and then discussed in meetings with the Principal to check the progress being made by each child. We find the meetings are of great benefit in ensuring the children continue to make good progress.

About Us